BCIA Council: Responsibilities and Composition

Council is responsible for BCIA's strategic direction within the guidelines of the Professional Governance Act and BCIA Bylaws.  The annual election process fills positions on Council. Council positions are volunteer and members do not receive remuneration. 

The Role of Council 

There are five ways in which Council meets its leadership responsibilities:

  1. Defines the strategic direction of the organization
  2. Sets the macro policies of the organization
  3. Provides financial and legal stewardship
  4. Monitors and evaluates organizational effectiveness
  5. Hires and evaluates the Chief Executive Officer/Registrar

Council 2021 - 2022

District 1 Councillors

District 2 Councillors

District 3 Councillors

Non-Voting Council Member

Lay Councillors: Government Order In-Council Appointees 

Listing of Council Member Email Contacts

Council Composition

The Council consists of seven (7) BCIA Registrant Councillors, the immediate Past-President, and four (4) Lay Councillors.

As per Bylaw 4, the Council must consist of:

(a) the President, who must be a Registrant Councillor, and whose term may commence after serving a term as Vice President;

(b) the Vice President, who must be a Registrant Councillor, elected in accordance with these Bylaws;

(c) the immediate Past-President who may serve as a non-voting member of Council for the period of up to two calendar years from the close of the BCIA's annual general meeting in the year in which the persons' term as President ends;

(d) up to four lay Councillors appointed under Section 27 of the PGA at least one of which must be present at any meeting, proceeding or hearing of  Council;

(e) a maximum of 7 Registrant Councillors allocated between and elected from the Regional Electoral Districts outlined in the current written BCIA policies.

Composition of the Seven Registrant Councillors:

  • 2 Registrant Councillors are elected from Regional Electoral District 1 being the geographical areas represented by the Peace River/Cariboo Central Interior/ Kootenay Boundary Branches plus all Registrants at-large, and;
  • 2 Registrant Councillors are elected from Regional Electoral District 2 being the geographical area represented by the Fraser Valley, Okanagan, Kamloops Branches, and; 
  • 3 Registrant Councillors are elected from Regional Electoral District 3 being the geographic area represented by the Vancouver and Victoria & Islands Branches.