Honours and Awards

The BC Institute of Agrologists recognizes registrants who have made outstanding contributions to the field of agrology and to BCIA. The award(s) are presented annually at BCIA's AGM. 

For awards at the branch level, view the Districts and Branches webpage for Cariboo Central Interior Branch's New Growth Award, and Kootenay Boundary Branch's Green Shoot and Willow Tree Awards.

Agrologist of the Year 2020

Awarded to Chris Armes, PAg for his work involving range and rangelands.

Mentor of the Year 2020

Not awarded as no nominations were received by deadline. 

Nominate a Candidate

  • Agrologist of the Year - The Agrologist of the Year award may be presented to an active Professional Agrologist (PAg) or Technical Agrologist (TAg) who has made a significant contribution to British Columbia's agricultural, natural resources or environmental science sectors.  Past Recipients 

Send Agrologist of the Year nominations to nominations@email.bcia.com by January 31st of each year.

  • Mentor of the Year - The Mentor of the Year award may be presented to a Professional Agrologist (PAg) or Technical Agrologist (TAg) who epitomizes the values and leadership of a BCIA mentor and is from, but is not limited to, the branch hosting the annual Conference.  Past Recipients. 

Send Mentor of the Year nominations to nominations@email.bcia.com by March 31st of each year.

  • Honourary Agrologist - As determined by Council the Honourary Agrologist award may be presented to any person who has made a substantial contribution to the profession of agrology or the management, use, and conservation of British Columbia's natural resources. Honourary registration for life or such time as Council may determine.  Past Recipients.

  • Distinguished Professional Agrologist (not currently active) - The Distinguished Professional Agrologist award may be presented to an active Professional Agrologist (PAg) for meritorious service to the BCIA over the recipient's career. This award is currently not active. Past Recipients.

  • BCIA Recognition (not currently active)- The BCIA Recognition award may be presented to a BCIA registrant who has demonstrated exemplary service to BCIA.  This award is currently not active.  Past Recipients