

British Columbia Institute of Agrologists Kamloops Branch 2023 Annual General Meeting Minutes

BCIA Kamloops Branch AGM 2023 - Draft Minutes

Nov 22 2023

DoubleTree by Hilton, 339 St Paul Street, Kamloops, BC

- Welcome, Call to Order, Territorial Acknowledgement

 Meeting called to Order by Kamloops Branch President Rae Dunphy at 4:15pm
- 2) Housekeeping Items
- 3) Andrew Neilson, P.Ag gave a presentation on the 2021 flood in the City of Merritt and recover efforts in the City from 4:22 to 4:55
- 4) Ryan O'Grady, P.Ag, P.Eng, MBA gave a presentation for BCIA updates
 - a) Introduction of new BCIA staff
 - b) Discussion on Reserved Practice
 - i) Opportunity to bring people into compliance who are practicing agrology but are not registrants.
 - ii) BCIA is currently working on outreach Government Ministries and other interested parties.
 - iii) BCIA is negotiating with other professional organizations that have overlapping practice areas.
 - iv) Next steps:
 - (1) Consider developing process whereby firms that employ agrologist may be regulated under PGA. BCIA is currently <u>not</u> required to regulate firms.
 - (2) Develop written practice standards as required by PGA.
 - (3) Eventual prosecution of unregistered persons who are providing services/advice that are reserved for registrants.
 - c) Professional Development
 - i) BCIA looking at continuing education requirements, and ensuring it is reasonable and aligned with other regulators.
 - ii) BCIA looking for feedback, contact Ryan with your ideas.
 - d) Strategic Plan 2023-2028 update is in the works
 - e) Next provincial AGM will be at the Land Summit in Nanaimo (May 8 2024)
 - f) Questions from the floor:
 - i) Question on AGM / Audit no date on having updated audit completed.
 - ii) Question on Duty to Report suggest to email questions to Ryan O'Grady
 - iii) Question on Regulated Firms (EGBC) overview provided but not on BCIA's agenda for several years.
 - iv) Question on Dual Registrants
 - (1) Overlaps in practice are evaluated on case-by-case basis
 - (2) Province creates legislation and regulation; regulators are responsible for determining what the overlap looks like & what boundaries are acceptable.
- 5) Dinner 5:50-6:50pm
- 6) Confirmation of Quorum and Approval of Agenda 6:50pm

- a) Quorum was confirmed to be met with more than 10% of the membership present
- b) Motion to approve the 2023 Agenda by Rae Dunphy
- c) Seconded by Andrew Nielsen
- d) Motion carried by vote of the membership
- 7) Approval of Minutes from 2022 Branch AGM
 - a) Motion to adopt minutes by Rae Dunphy
 - b) Seconded by Kalin Johnston
 - c) Motion carried by vote of the membership
- 8) 2022 Branch Executive Reports
 - a) Chair's Report delivered by Rae Dunphy
 - i) Rae summarized the Chair's Report for 2023 (attached)
 - b) A. Ag Coordinator's Report delivered by Ben Sampogna
 - i) Ben summarized the A. Ag Coordinator's Report from 2023 (attached)
 - (1) Total articling members: 27
 - (2) New articling members since last AGM: 15
 - (3) Total student members: 15
 - (4) Total new student members since last AGM: 7
 - (5) Total new P. Ags since last AGM: 12
 - c) Professional Development Coordinator's Report delivered by Kathryne Cunninghami) Kathryne summarized the PD Coordinator's report for 2023 (attached)
 - d) Treasurer's Report delivered by Rae Dunphy
 - i) Rae summarized the Treasurer's Report for 2023 (attached)
- 9) Provincial Reports
 - a) Numbers were provided on branch registrants
 - b) Provincial reports provided earlier in the meeting
- 10) Elections of New Executive Officers
 - a) Nominations were solicited in advance and from the floor from Treasurer, Secretary, PD Coordinator, and a Director.
 - i) Amy Sigsworth nominated for Director
 - ii) William Woods nominated for Vice Chair
 - iii) Elizabeth Grisenthwaite nominated for Treasurer
 - iv) Mandeep Saini nominated for PD Coordinator
 - v) Josh Stoski for PD Coordinator
 - vi) Margarete Dettlaff nominated Secretary
 - b) Motion to approve new executive by Sarah Peters
 - c) Seconded by Amber McAfee
 - d) Motion carried by vote.
- 11) Awards, Recognitions, and Presentations
 - a) 25 year Membership Recognitions

- b) New PAg's Recitation of the Oath
 - i) Heather Vermey
 - ii) Nicole Remple
 - iii) Michelle Gagnon
 - iv) Margarete Dettlaff
- c) AAg introductory presentations (Kamloops Branch)
 - i) Brenden Dueck
 - ii) Kailum Nicolson
 - iii) Cassie Morris
 - iv) Curtis Ruttan
 - v) Elizabeth Grisenthwaite
 - vi) Kyla Wallin
 - vii) Mandeep Saini
 - viii) Meagan Nolander
 - ix) Scott McLachlan
 - x) Teal Randle
 - xi) William Woods
 - xii) Galen Barnhardt
- 12) Welcome to the new Branch Chair
 - a) Andrew Nielsen was welcomed as the new branch Chair for 2024
- 13) New Business
 - a) None.
- 14) Adjournment
 - a) Motion to adjourn by Andrew Nielsen
 - b) Seconded by William Woods
 - c) Motion carried by vote of the membership
 - d) Meeting adjourned at 7:37 pm.