BCIA – Okanagan Branch

Branch Executive Meeting – Feb 15 2024 Location Kelowna Coast Capri Hotel Minute Recorder: Melissa Graydon



Maureen Grainger - Land acknowledgement

Call to Order - 2:47 PM

Quorum confirmed - Yes

Motion to accept agenda - passed

Motion to accept minutes from AGM 2023 - passed

President report - Theresa Loewen

- Extraordinary time to be an agrologist pandemic, drought, extreme wildfire activity, etc
- Great to be here and hear from the panelists prior to our AGM
- Okanagan branch is growing, we have 255 members
- Thanks to 2023 executive team

Articling Agrologist Report - Catherine Hayes

- 14 new AAgs, 16 progressed to PAg, 6 new student members since Feb 2023 AGM

PD Report - Adrian Arts and Lyndsay King

- lots of PD opportunities through 2023 networking and social events like the Kal Forest tour and North and South Christmas Socials
- Online webinars
- Field tours bus tour, BCCA silvopasture tour
- Upcoming events include Southern Interior Horticultural Show, Ethics, Environmental Flow conference and Provincial AGM in May

Treasurer Report - Paige Munro

- 2023 had carryover from 2022
- PD and social events to offset cost
- 2023 \$903.38 carried to 2024
- \$4200 for branch subsidy
- \$4200 + \$903.38 = 2024 budget
- Motion to accept 2023 financials passed
- Motion to accept 2024 budget passed

Provincial update from Ryan O'Grady (Registrar) & Jessica Morgan (former Board Chair)

- Jane Kerner interim CEO
- Kara Hamilton brought on for Finance
- District 2 has three branches (Okanagan, Kamloops, and Fraser Valley)
- PGA Reserved Practice came into effect Sept 17, 2021
- BCIA is not looking into regulation of firms, such as PEng

BCIA - Okanagan Branch

Branch Executive Meeting – Feb 15 2024 Location Kelowna Coast Capri Hotel Minute Recorder: Melissa Graydon



- Provincial AGM and Land Summitt May 8-10 in Nanaimo

Articling Agrologist Presentations

- 13 of them - Jonas Bateman, Reese Betcloff, Cole Schweb, Elisa Godard, Lauren Bevandick, Kris Needham, Samantha Nicholls, Sarah O'Brien, Bailey Wellman, Shay-Lyn Steiger, Amanada Brown, Sarah Trillo, and Logan Pay

Awards

- 25 year Michelle Fitzgerald & James Anthony
- 50 year Al Dean & David Gartrell
- Family Farm Award Thompson Family
- Lifetime Achievement Award Greg Teggart

Election of Executive

- Andrew Kuiper President
- Jose Garcia President Elect
- PD Coordinators Logan Pay, Sarah Carlson, Stephanie Lindberg

Adjourn - 4:03 PM