The Role of BCIA’s Council

Council is responsible for BCIA's strategic direction within the guidelines of the Professional Governance Act and BCIA Bylaws. The annual election process fills positions on Council. Council positions are volunteer, and members do not receive remuneration. 

Council is responsible for the transparent stewardship of the BC Institute of Agrologists and the protection of the public interest as outlined in the Professional Governance Act (SBC 2018). It is expected that Council will provide oversight, make strategic decisions, ensure financial and operational viability, and set policy.

There are five ways in which Council meets its leadership responsibilities:

  • Defining the strategic direction of the organization;
  • Setting the macro policies of the organization;
  • Providing financial and legal stewardship;
  • Monitoring and evaluating organizational effectiveness; 
  • Hiring and evaluating the Chief Executive Officer/Registrar.

To carry out its role, Council must be adequately staffed with sufficient human resources (HR), including clear and ethical HR policies; a positive
work environment, and engaged Councillors.

Council is expected to govern, whereas the staff is expected to manage the organization's day-to-day affairs, as determined by Council. Such
direction is provided through the mission, vision, values, strategic plan, and budget, and through policy, oversight, and counsel.

Key characteristics of an effective Council are:

  • Council concerns itself with critical issues central to organizational success;
  • Council is driven to achieve results linked to defined goals and timelines;
  • Council has clear assessments to measure results;
  • Council requires the engagement of the organization's internal and external stakeholders.

Council Composition

The Council consists of seven (7) BCIA Registrant Councillors, the immediate Past-President, and four (4) Lay Councillors.

As per Bylaw 4, the Council must consist of:

  • The President, who must be a Registrant Councillor, and whose term may commence after serving a term as Vice President;
  • The Vice President, who must be a Registrant Councillor, elected per these Bylaws;
  • The immediate Past-President who may serve as a non-voting member of the Council for up to two calendar years, commencing from the end of  BCIA's Annual General Meeting (AGM) in the year the incumbent's term as President ends;
  • Up to four lay Councillors appointed under Section 27 of the PGA, at least one of which must be present at any meeting, proceedings, or hearing of the Council;
  • A maximum of 7 Registrant Councillors elected from and allocated between the Regional Electoral Districts as outlined in the current written BCIA policies.

Council 2022 - 2023

District 1 Councillors
  • Rebecca Martin, PAg, Vice President
  • Natasha Neumann, PAg
District 2 Councillors
  • Jessica Morgan, PAg, President
  • William Shaw, PAg
District 3 Councillors
  • Warren Mills, PAg
  • Yasemin Parkinson, PAg
  • Kirk Phair, PAg, Treasurer
Non-Voting Council Member
  • Jane Kerner, PAg, Past President
Lay Councillors: Government Order In-Council Appointees 
  • Aiden Wiechula, RPF
  • Brock Endean
  • Carla Corbett Schiller, RPBio
  • Matthew Voell, J.D.

"Regulatory bodies are required to have four lay councillors appointed by a government serving on their councils. Lay councillors bring an external perspective from Registrant councillors and contribute to the council’s duty to serve and protect the public interest in the governance of the profession(s)."  
~ From the OSPG website

Council Meeting Minutes

Approved Council Meeting Minutes are posted under the Public Resources Library.

To search, go to Resources and Publications - Public Resources and search for the title of Council.  

Resources and Publications - Public Resources - Council

Site by Deck Fifty